The Great Purge

Walter (Wally) enjoying his time on the beach.

Walter (Wally) enjoying his time on the beach.

I’ve always had a hard time letting go of the many trinkets I’ve received over the years. It seems everything manages to spark a forgotten memory. With the arrival of Spring, many of us feel the need for “spring cleaning,” hoping to clean up and start the year off fresh. As you gather things to stock your yard sale, you come across something you haven’t seen for years, perhaps forgotten about entirely. You pick it up, hold it in your hands and are launched into hyper-drive, traveling back in time, reminiscing. Most of us don’t want to forget the good times of our past, so we hold onto useless items merely for the occasional trip down memory lane. For many of us, the clutter remains until we are ready to allow memory to stand alone.

The year prior to purchasing the Vanagon, I had moved for the ninth time in six years. There is nothing like moving day to remind you of how much stuff you own. As I packed, loaded and moved all my belongings, I felt weighed down by the excess amount of stuff. Trapped by my possessions, I desperately searched for a life of less. I wanted the burden of DTE bills, Comcast bills, and unreasonable rent to disappear. The cost of living was much higher than these recent university graduates could afford. Although this wasn’t the main draw to a car-dwelling lifestyle, it was a contributing factor. The idea to downsize possessions had already been sewn in our minds, all we were waiting for was the motivation to do so.

After bringing Gormy home in May 2012, it became necessary to downsize our belongings. A sardine tin can only hold so much- finally, the motivation we needed! Many of you may look around your own home and be wondering, “Where would I start?” Eager to let go, I first asked the question, “What do I absolutely NOT need?” I walked through the apartment and quickly was able to eliminate all furniture and every appliance in my home (Goodbye blender, you’ve made such memorable Margaritas). Here, the flood gates opened and the Great Purge began. I donated a dozen garbage bags full of clothing and shoes. I sold the television and gaming consoles, DVDs, and games. I sold my bike, guitars, and almost all of the kitchen cookware. The more things I got rid of, the more liberated I began to feel.

After we’d freed ourselves from the things we absolutely didn’t need, I found myself seeking the next things to let go. It became increasingly difficult to find things that weren’t necessary, leading to the next question, “What do I absolutely need?” Basic human needs; shelter, food, and clothing were a good place to start. Good ole Gormy met the shelter requirement. Since we have replaced the pop-top canvas and refinished the pop-top and fitted her with new seals, Gormy should make a rather comfortable and dry shelter. Gormy is fitted with a 10 gallon water tank and a small sink. A dutch oven, Coleman two-burner, a few pots and pans, and two jetboils make up our kitchen cookware. Stocked with bulk dry goods and fruits and veggies, we should eat rather well. Downsizing our wardrobe was the hardest task. Trying to fit enough clothes for every season in a 24″ x 12″ x 6″ bin is impossible. We exceeded our allotment for clothing space by a small duffel bag, but will manage for the time being.

Once we’d set aside the things we absolutely needed, it was time to add in the things that weren’t required for survival, but still necessary in our minds. In went the climbing gear, guidebooks, and snowboarding gear. Laptops, camera equipment, and a few art supplies followed shortly behind.

Everything fits, but I wouldn’t call it a five-star hotel.

We will be on the road tomorrow, moving in the direction of Colorado. Making a few stops along the road, we should arrive in Fort Collins by Sunday afternoon.